I wouldn’t fake it if I were you……lol……

ola! I am not the funny type but I worry about my people who have various accents. The ones who visit Abu Dahbi and end up with a British accent. Let me dive right into it. I got a phone call from Nigeria and it was a friend of mine, for the life of me I could not understand why he was talking the way he did seeing he is based in Nigeria. I was like “he…llo..” I made a face after I guessed the right name and I was like “o hey.” I thought he sounded the way he did because he may have thought I wouldn’t understand him, but dude was I wrong. I had a conversation with a friend about it and while laughing she said “o you have not heard anything yet”. From there I began to watch more Nigerian effizy movies and listen to people talk. The funny thing is, even in the movies, when someone returns from the United States they speak with a British accent…There is nothing more noble than being yourself. A lot of people lead fake lives with fake personalities, with fake everything. Okay now, I am not saying my friend is a fake person, but that accent though lol.

As Nigerians who live or have lived in other countries and experienced other cultures, when we are together we have a tendency to speak in our accents but there is always a slight difference  while we speak. Take for instance, when I speak to my Nigerian peers, I speak much slower and I tend to be more comfortable while talking but when I speak to non Nigerians I have the tendency to speak fast or the way they understand. But that faking of accents and sounding like a cross breed between English and American/Arabic is totally funny and ridiculous. Imagine an Igbo man who has never left Nigeria and with a total Igbo accent speaking like he has lived in England…scary “innit”? I have a friend who said to me a while ago “I rather carry my no name brand bag than carry a fake Mk(Michael Kors) bag. I guess a fake accent can be compared to a Michael Kors bag and some carry about their fake accent like a fake designer bag… Thank you Dami lol….

Some people even fake more than their accents because once the accent is faked other things start turning fake too.

I have an aunty who told me “be comfortable with who you are”. You don’t need to fake anything to get anything. Even the Americans or English people who we live around love the uniqueness of our Nigerian/African accents. I know Nigerians who have heard me talk and say I sound different, some tell me “slow down you talk too fast”. For example my mom says “Nne biko slow down ka’mu nu ihe e ne kwu” which means “please slow down so I understand what you are saying”. Some say I have a slight English accent…Meanwhile, I have never been to the United Kingdom but trust me I have my Nigerian accent and they kind of associate it with the british accent…why? I don’t know. I even know Nigerians who have said I have no Nigerian accent…hmmm okay… But them folks who went to Lagos or even Ibadan and went home with a British or American accent, I bow to una o…

If you want to fake something like an accent, by all means do it right. Don’t try to sound Irish when you have not even been to the third main land bridge…and just because you live in Victoria Island you end up confusing it with London and start sounding British…

Now you can fake an accent like an orgasm and it probably helps your hustle and I cannot knock that, but when it becomes a lifestyle affecting everything else…my dear na prayer get am o.

like I said, I am not the funny type, I just thought this would brighten your day.

4 thoughts on “I wouldn’t fake it if I were you……lol……”

  1. And for a moment, when i saw “fake it” in blog title, my dorti mind was expecting something else

    **in Indian accent, bobbing head**

Leave a Reply

